2008 Inductees



Susan Baylon Fries '83

Carol Burkhart Furtwengler '58

Brian Haagensen '68




Nicole Jaycox Anderson '94

James M. Daley, M.D. (1954-1984)

Patrick Knaze '95

Ken Kurz '95

Drew Pariano '95

Lisa Bernard Rachul '80



Berniace Cherkala (1976-1985)

Mary Mohnacky (1973-1993)

Donald Shafer, Ph.D. (1974-2001)

Earl Vanamen (1958-1981)

Alumni Hall of Fame 2008 Inductees

Susan Baylon Fries - Class of 1983


Kent State University, Undergraduate degree

Syracuse University, MA in Broadcast Journalism

News Journalist "Good Morning Northwest" Spokane, WA

Emmy Award for Broadcast Journalism

Producer of programs showcasing Spokane citizens who have made a difference

Contributing Reporter to PBS national shows

Worked at television stations in Missouri, Illinois and Florida

Launched a 24-hour news channel in Tampa Bay, FL

Graduate of the Spokane Leadership Program

Board Member - Ronald McDonald House Charities

Volunteer - American Field Service Exchange Programs, Anna Ogden Hall, Christian Women's Clubs

Member of the Gonzaga Symphony Orchestra

Adjunct Professor, Communications Studies Department, Whitworth College


Carol Burkhart Furtwengler, PhD. - Class of 1958

Professor Emeritus

Department of Administration, Counseling, Educational and School Psychology

Wichita State University

  • Education Consultant Research and Service Institute, Brentwood, IN
  • Special Assistant to Governor of Tennessee
  • Assistant Commissioner, Certification, Research and Planning, Tennessee State Department of Education
  • Director of Special Services, Tennessee School Boards of Education
  • Administrator, Department of Planning Services, Fairfax, VA
  • Publication of over 30 book chapters and monographs in the field of education
  • National Presenter at various education conferences
  • Provided service to numerous community groups concerning Quality Performance, School Reform and Accreditation Seminars
  • 1997 Outstanding Teacher
  • 1998 Outstanding Teacher

Brian Haagensen - Class of 1968

Retired Captain, United States Navy

  • 1972 United states Naval Academy
  • 1973 United States Naval Postgraduate School
  • 1987 Naval Submarine Officers Advanced Course
  • Served on USS Benjamin Franklin, USS Georgia and USS Pargo Nuclear Ballistic and Attack Submarines
  • Deputy Commander for Anti-Terrorism and Force Protection to Naval Northeast Region
  • Receive the Legion of Merit the highest non-combat medal that is awarded to military personnel
  • Developed Sonalysts and PSHA companies solving civilian nuclear power safety issues
  • Member of Nuclear Regulatory Commission Staff

Athletic Hall of Fame 2008 Inductees

Nicole Jaycox Anderson - Class of 1994

Basketball, Track & Field

  • Earned 10 Varsity Letters
  • 1992 Selected MVP All-american Basketball Camp at Oberlin College
  • 1993, 1994 Basketball MVP
  • 1993, 1994 Led Basketball team in Scoring, assists and minutes played
  • Established Basketball Records in Scoring and Assists
  • Four year Starter and Letter winner at Heidelberg College
  • State Meet Qualifier in Track & Field
  • Established FHS Records in 800 meter run and 3200 meter run



James M. Daley, M.D. (1954-1984)

Team Physician Fairview High School

  • 31 years - General Physician in Fairview Park 
  • 4 years - Chief of Staff at St. John's Hospital
  • 20 years - Courtesy Staff at Fairview General Hospital for 20 years
  • 30+ years - Team Physician for Fairview School Athletics
  • 13 years -  Fairview Park Board of Education
  • 14 years - Fairview Recreation Committee
  • 10 years - Chairperson, Fairview Recreation Committee
  • 1976 Fairview Park Citizen of the Year
  • 1982 Ohio High School Hall of Fame

Patrick Knaze - Class of 1995

Football, Wrestling, Baseball

  • Nine Varsity Letters (4 Wrestling, 3 Football, 2 Baseball)
  • 1995 All-Ohio Football
  • 1995 All District Football 
  • 1995 East-West Football Game MVP
  • 1995 First Team Southwestern Conference Football
  • 1994 Football Offensive Player of the Year
  • 1994 All-State Honorable Mention Football
  • Three Time Southwestern Conference Wrestling Champion
  • Four Year Qualifier for the Ohio State Wrestling Tournament
  • 1994-1995 Second in the Ohio State Wrestling Tournament
  •  Also Placed Third and Fourth in the Ohio State Wrestling Tournament
  • Two Years All Southwestern Conference Wrestling
  • Lettered Two Years i Baseball
  • Earned Four Varsity Letters at Baldwin-Wallace College


Ken Kurz - Class of 1995

Cross Country, Track & Field

  • Seven Varsity Letters (4 Cross Country, 3 Track & Field)
  • 1994-1995 1st Team All-SWC Cross Country
  • Cross Country District Runner-Up and Regional Champion
  • MVP Fairview Cross Country Team
  • Sun Newspaper All Cross Country Team
  • Plain Dealer All Cross Country Team
  • Academic All Ohio Cross Country
  • Set Numerous Cross Country Records
  • Regional and State Qualifier Track & Field - 3 Consecutive Years
  • 1st Team All Ohio Track & Field 1600 Meters
  • 1st Team All Ohio Track & Field 3200 Meters
  • All Ohio placing 8th in State Meet 1600 Meters
  • 1994 1st Team All-SWC Track & Field
  • 1995 1st Team All-SWC Track & Field
  • 1995 Track & Field Varsity Captain
  • SWC Scholar Athlete



Drew Pariano - Class of 1995


Lisa Bernard Rachul - Class of 1980


Swam competitively on FHS Boys Swim Team

Faculty Hall of Fame 2008 Inductees

Berniace Cherkala (1976-1998)

Secretary, Fairview Park Schools

  • Served under four Principals at Fairview High School
  • Served under three Superintendents for the Fairview Park Schools
  • Gave dedicated and professional service to Fairview Park Schools
  • Admired and respected by faculty and staff for her professionalism and expertise
  • Provided service to students, parents, faculty, administrative staff and the community with grace and dedication





Mary Mohnacky (1973-1993)

Donald Shafer, Ph.D. (1974-2001)

Earl Vanamen (1958-1981)

FHS HOF Nomination form - revised 8:16.p
Adobe Acrobat Document 31.3 KB


The Fairview Park City Schools Alumni Hall of Fame: The Official Nomination Form


To nominate a candidate you must use the official nomination form.

You may nominate as many individuals as you wish, but you must use a separate official form for each nominee.


In order to be considered for induction into the Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Induction, nominations must be received by March 1, 2019.

Nominations received after this date will not be reviewed for 2020 Induction.



Please note: By submitting this document, you attest to the validity and to the accuracy of all information provided.

Note: Please fill out the fields marked with an asterisk.