Fairview Park City Schools Hall of Fame Newsletter

December, 2016


The Hall of Fame Committee welcomed three new members in 2016. Rebecca Tweedle, Donna Martins, and John Jefferson bring their talents in areas of

technology, marketing, communication, and fundraising to help us reach more people and expand our scholarship fund. We are grateful for their time and commitment to the Hall of Fame.


The founders of the Fairview Park City Schools Hall of Fame will be recognized for their work at our 2017 Induction banquet on May 6, 2017 at the Airport Marriott on W. 150th St. in Cleveland. Fundraising to provide dinners and plaques for this special group of people has raised over $4000 from generous friends of the Hall of Fame.


In March of 2016, the Hall of Fame Committee reviewed all nominations and voted to select twelve inductees to the Alumni, Athletic, and Faculty/Staff Halls of Fame.

We are proud to announce the Fairview Park City Schools 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees:


Alumni: Tudor Dimofte, Rene Hernandez, Mary Nock, Stephen Senderoff.

Athletic: Pat Hoy, Jim Leffingwell, Bryan Weir, Jeremy Zarins

Faculty/Staff: Margaret S. Goebelt, Tony DiBiasio, Tom Kairis, Judi Norton


Hall of Fame Scholarship  - The Hall of Fame Committee awards a $500 scholarship to a graduating senior each May.

Fundraising has been enhanced with a GoFundMe page. A link to it is provided on our webpage. A goal of $2000 has been set.

Donations can also be mailed to: Fairview Park Hall of Fame Committee, P.O. Box 26288, Fairview Park, OH 44126. 

Please help us meet our goal with your tax-deductible contribution!


Our webpage is currently being updated to include biographies of inductees, an online candidate nomination form, and coming soon, a link to PayPal. We'll continue to add more features in the future.


Do you know of someone who should be considered for induction in the Hall of Fame?

We encourage you to submit a nomination! Use the online form on our webpage to provide thorough information about a candidate. Gather facts describing the

person’s achievements and tell us what puts them above and beyond others to be considered for induction. Be sure to include contact information for

you as well as your nominee. Nominations are accepted for each induction cycle and considered ‘active’ for a total of three cycles, or nine years. If your candidate is not

inducted in that time, you may re-submit your nomination. We have already received several submissions for the 2020 Induction.


Thanks for your support of the Fairview Park City Schools Hall of Fame.

March, 2015


Committee members: Joel Chermonte, Chairman, Tom Kairis, Vice-Chairman, Jean Scothon, Treasurer, Mary Kay Wysong, Secretary, Karen Welter, Craig Fawcett, Sandy Bennhoff, Kathy Rosol, Tony DiBiasio, Becky Tweedle and John Jefferson. We meet monthly and welcome new members. If you’d like to join the committee, please contact Joel at 440-915-4509.


Hello, Everyone! We wanted to keep you informed about the activities of the Hall of Fame Committee since the most recent Induction Banquet in 2014.

Thanks to your generosity, our fundraising campaign has netted over $6,000! As a result, we have quite a few new names to include in our program for the next banquet. The FPCS Hall of Fame Committee is now a tax-exempt organization, and gladly accepts

donations any time.


-The Hall of Fame Committee will sponsor a student scholarship, starting this year, in the amount of $250. It will be awarded to a student planning to  major in education.


-The Fairview Park City Schools have named Bill Wagner as their new superintendent. He has expressed interest in working with the Hall of Fame  Committee and we welcome him and his family to Fairview. If you haven’t been to Fairview in a while, it might surprise you to know that Garnett  and Coffinberry schools are now just a memory. The “new” Gilles-Sweet opened in 2007, while Parkview is now the administrative/ kindergarten  building.


-Our website is up and running. Visit: http://www.fairviewparkschoolshalloffame.com/ for a list of inductees, nomination forms, and upcoming events.  We are accepting nominations for induction.


-Our next Induction Banquet will be Saturday, May 6, 2017, at the Marriott on W.150th St. Be sure to save the date!


-The Hall of Fame Committee will support the Fairview Education Foundation by sponsoring a hole at their golf outing Saturday, August 1, 2015, at    Grey Hawk Golf Course. Lunch is 11:00, with a shotgun start at noon. Dinner and awards follow golf. Cost is $100/golfer, or $30 for dinner only. For  reservations contact: Sally Lisowski 440-779-1417 sally.lisowski @yahoo.com Denise Devine 440-343-5389 yayadevine@gmail.com Bill Wagner  440-331-5500 bwagner@fairview.k12.oh.us


-Sadly, we note the passing of our friends, Ned Livengood, John Cawley, and David Misener. We send condolences to their families. Their service to  Fairview Park will long be remembered.


-Do you remember Garnett Gatherings, Field Day at Parkview, Red Days at the High School, Homecoming bonfires, or spaghetti dinners for the  marching band? Do you have memories of traditions in Fairview? Do you have news to share about inductees? We’d love to hear from you! You can  email Mary Kay  at ddwysong@yahoo.com with your news or favorite memories.